Earn your Bobcat Badge!

Bobcat RankRegardless of what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, the Bobcat badge is completed first, before any other rank may be awarded. The trail to Bobcat involves learning about the values, signs, and symbols of the Boy Scouts of America and Cub Scouting.


1. Learn and say the Scout Oath, with help if needed.

On my honor I will do my best
To do my duty to God and my country
and to obey the Scout Law;
To help other people at all times; 
To keep myself physically strong,
mentally awake, and morally straight.


2. Learn and say the Scout Law, with help if needed.

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly,
courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty,
brave, clean, and reverent.

3. Show the Cub Scout sign. Tell what it means.

See Below.  The Ears of the Wolf, ready to listen.

4. Show the Cub Scout handshake. Tell what it means.

See Below. We are Brothers in Cub Scouting.

5. Say the Cub Scout motto. Tell what it means.

“Do your Best.”  Giving your best effort is right and honest.

6. Show the Cub Scout salute. Tell what it means.

See Below. It means you respect our country’s flag. 

7. With your parent or guardian, complete the exercises in the pamphlet How to Protect Your Children From Child Abuse: A Parent’s Guide—Bobcat Requirements.  This pamphlet is inside your scout’s handbook.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s